Skip to content
SVG Diagram logovsNapkin AI logo

SVG Diagram vs Napkin AI

The two apps built around describing a diagram in words. SVG Diagram fills polished designs and exports clean SVG and PNG, with Pro at $12.50 a month for commercial use; Napkin turns selected text into visuals, with 500 free AI credits a week and Napkin branding on free exports.

Which one to pick

SVG Diagram logoPick SVG Diagram if

Words
  • You want a finished, on-brand diagram for an article, doc or slide
  • You want to restyle text, colours and fonts without spending credits
  • You'd like an API to generate diagrams from your own data (Power and Max)
All SVG Diagram facts

Napkin AI logoPick Napkin AI if

Words
  • You want visuals from a long piece of text you've already written
  • You need work use on the free plan
  • You want PDF or slide exports as well as SVG and PNG
All Napkin AI facts

Where they differ most

Free for work use

SVG Diagram logoSVG Diagram
NoNo
Napkin AI logoNapkin AI
YesYes

Cheapest paid plan

SVG Diagram logoSVG Diagram
$12.50/month, Pro (billed yearly)
Napkin AI logoNapkin AI
Price not stated

Works offline

SVG Diagram logoSVG Diagram
Not statedNot stated
Napkin AI logoNapkin AI
NoNo

Live co-editing

SVG Diagram logoSVG Diagram
Not statedNot stated
Napkin AI logoNapkin AI
YesYes

Self-hosting

SVG Diagram logoSVG Diagram
Not statedNot stated
Napkin AI logoNapkin AI
NoNo

Every fact, side by side

Highlighted rows differ. Rows with an info mark open a note.

Napkin AI logoNapkin AI
SVG Diagram logoSVG Diagram

How you make a diagram

Ways to draw WordsWords
AI limits (differs)500 credits a week free, 10,000 a month on Plus, 30,000 on Pro; about one credit per selected word10 diagrams a month free, 50 on Pro, 250 on Power, 600 on Max; editing, copying and downloading don't use credits

Free plan and prices

Free version Free planFree plan
Free limits (differs)500 AI credits a week (about one per word); limited PPT and SVG exports; Napkin watermark10 diagrams a month with 23 starter designs and unlimited edits, plus free browser makers (bar graph, pie chart, Venn and more) that need no account
Cheapest paid plan (differs)Price not stated$12.50/month, Pro (billed yearly)

What you get out

Where it runs and where files live

Apps WebWeb

Who you're trusting

Data residency (differs)None stated; primary processing in the USNone stated; data may be processed outside the Netherlands and EEA

Other comparisons