
The Omni Group
OmniGraffle
Drag shapes
Mac, iPad and iPhone diagram app from The Omni Group: you place shapes and stencils on a canvas and connect them, with automatic layouts; files stay on your device.
- How you draw
- Shapes
- Free for work
- No
- Trial only
- Paid from
- $149.99 once
- One-time licence
- Exports
- SVG, PNG, PDF
- Runs on
- Mac, iPad / iPhone
- Made by
- The Omni Group
- United States
Good to know
- No free plan, only a trial
- SVG export is on paid plans only
- Can be bought once: $149.99
Where it stands among 24
Each fact with every app's answer. OmniGraffle is outlined.
Main way to draw
Drag shapes
Sketch by hand 5
Drag shapes 13
Write code 4
Describe in words 2
Free for work use
No free work use
Free version allows work use 10
Exports SVG
On paid plans
On every plan 15
On paid plans 5
Draws from a text prompt
Not stated
On every plan 14
On paid plans 3
No AI drawing 1
Not stated 6
Diagram code
No live code
Works offline
Not stated
Open source
Closed source
Plans and prices
In USD, per month, as listed by The Omni Group. Checked 17 October 2026.
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Seats | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Trial onlyTwo-week trial, then view-only | Work use: not allowed | ||
| Pro subscription (Mac, iPhone, iPad) | Not stated | Not stated | 1 user | Latest Pro version on all Apple platforms; renews until cancelled. |
- Free for work use
- Not statedNot applicable
- One-time licence
- $149.99
- Enterprise
- Not stated
How you make a diagram
- Ways to draw
- Shapes
- AI from a text prompt
- Not statedNot stated No AI feature stated
- AI limits
- Not applicable No AI features stated
- Diagram code
- Imports Graphviz only No live diagram code
- Diagram types
- Flowcharts, Mind maps, Wireframes, Network, UML Stencils and Graphviz-powered automatic layouts
What you get out
- SVG
- Paid plansPaid plans Pro
- PNG
- YesYes
- YesYes
- Visio (VSDX)
- NoNo Pro exports Visio XML (.vdx), not VSDX
- Watermark on free exports
- Not statedNot stated No free plan
- Imports
- Visio Visio import (.vsd, .vsdx, .vdx and stencils) needs Pro; also DOT, PDF, SVG and images
Where it runs and where files live
- Apps
- Mac, iPad / iPhone
- Works offline
- Not statedNot stated Local-first and on-device, but full offline use isn't stated
- Open source
- NoNo Sold under Standard and Pro licences
- Self-hosting
- Not applicableNot applicable A local app; sync can use your own WebDAV server
- Where diagrams are stored
- Files on your device, Your own server, Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox Local, iCloud, Omni Sync Server or your own WebDAV; older iOS docs list Google Drive, OneDrive, Box and Dropbox
- Works inside
- None Visio import and export; no Confluence, Jira, Notion, Google, Microsoft, Slack, VS Code or GitHub integration stated
- Live co-editing
- Not statedNot stated Not stated; OmniPresence syncs files but isn't co-editing
- API
- Paid plansPaid plans Omni Automation JavaScript (Mac and iOS) and AppleScript (Mac) on Pro
Who you're trusting
- Company
- The Omni Group Employee-owned
- Owned by
- Independent Employee-owned company
- Based in
- United States Founded in Seattle, Washington
- Launched
- Not stated OmniGraffle 5.0 shipped in March 2008 and earlier versions existed; the first launch year isn't stated
- Security reports
- Not applicable A local app, not a hosted service
- Single sign-on
- Not applicable No accounts
- Data residency
- Not applicable Files stay where you store them