Microsoft
Microsoft Visio
Drag shapes
Microsoft's diagramming app: you drag shapes and connectors from stencils, in the browser with Visio Plan 1 or in the Windows desktop app with Plan 2 or a one-time licence.
- How you draw
- Shapes
- Free for work
- No
- No free version
- Paid from
- $5/user/mo
- Visio Plan 1, billed yearly
- Exports
- SVG, PNG, PDF, VSDX
- Runs on
- Web, Windows
- Made by
- Microsoft
- United States
Good to know
- No free version
- SVG export is on paid plans only
- Can be bought once: $579.99
Where it stands among 24
Each fact with every app's answer. Microsoft Visio is outlined.
Main way to draw
Drag shapes
Sketch by hand 5
Drag shapes 13
Write code 4
Describe in words 2
Free for work use
No free work use
Free version allows work use 10
Exports SVG
On paid plans
On every plan 15
On paid plans 5
Draws from a text prompt
Not stated
On every plan 14
On paid plans 3
No AI drawing 1
Not stated 6
Diagram code
No live code
Works offline
Partly
Open source
Closed source
Plans and prices
In USD, per month, as listed by Microsoft. Checked 17 October 2026.
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Seats | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | No free versionIncluded Visio in Microsoft 365: basic diagrams in the browser, .vsdx only | Work use: not allowed | ||
| Visio Plan 1 | $5/mo$60 a year | Not stated | per user | Web app, 2 GB OneDrive storage. |
| Visio Plan 2 | $15/mo$180 a year | Not stated | per user | Adds the Windows desktop app, BPMN and engineering shapes. |
- Free for work use
- Not statedNot applicable
- One-time licence
- $579.99
- Enterprise
- Price on request
How you make a diagram
- Ways to draw
- Shapes
- AI from a text prompt
- Not statedNot stated Microsoft's Visio pages don't describe diagrams from a prompt
- AI limits
- Not stated Not stated
- Diagram code
- None No diagram-as-code authoring documented
- Diagram types
- Flowcharts, Network, Cloud architecture, ER / database, UML, Mind maps, Org charts, BPMN, Sequence, Wireframes Specialised types on Plan 1 and Plan 2; BPMN on Plan 2; Azure and AWS shapes
What you get out
- SVG
- Paid plansPaid plans Plan 1 and desktop Visio; the free web viewer can't export
- PNG
- Paid plansPaid plans
- Paid plansPaid plans Visio for the web needs an editing licence to export PDF
- Visio (VSDX)
- Paid plansPaid plans Native format
- Watermark on free exports
- Not statedNot stated No free plan
- Imports
- Visio Also .vsd, AutoCAD .dwg/.dxf, images and Excel data; no Lucidchart, draw.io, Gliffy or Mermaid import
Where it runs and where files live
- Apps
- Web, Windows
- Works offline
- PartlyPartly The Plan 2 / one-time Windows desktop app works offline; the web versions don't
- Open source
- NoNo Proprietary Microsoft product
- Self-hosting
- Not statedNot stated Not stated
- Where diagrams are stored
- OneDrive, Files on your device OneDrive for Business and SharePoint; local files with the desktop app
- Works inside
- Teams, Microsoft Office Also Power BI; no Confluence, Jira, Notion, Google, Slack, VS Code or GitHub integration stated
- Live co-editing
- Paid plansPaid plans With Plans 1 and 2 or eligible Microsoft 365 commercial plans; desktop coauthoring needs Plan 2
- API
- YesYes Visio JavaScript API for SharePoint Online embeds; desktop object model with Plan 2 or a one-time licence
Who you're trusting
- Company
- Microsoft Corporation Visio became a Microsoft division after the 2000 acquisition
- Owned by
- Microsoft Corporation
- Based in
- United States Redmond, Washington
- Launched
- Not stated Microsoft doesn't state the original launch year; it completed the Visio acquisition in 2000
- Security reports
- Not stated Microsoft's compliance catalogue lists certifications for its offerings generally, not for Visio
- Single sign-on
- Not stated Not stated for Visio
- Data residency
- Not stated Visio-specific residency isn't stated; Microsoft 365 regional options apply generally