
Visual Paradigm
Visual Paradigm Online
Diagram suite from Visual Paradigm International: you drag shapes from UML, BPMN and other libraries in the browser, or write Mermaid, PlantUML, DOT or D2 in its VPasCode editor; desktop editions are sold separately.
- How you draw
- Shapes, Code, Words
- Free for work
- No
- Free plan
- Paid from
- $4/user/mo
- Starter, billed yearly
- Exports
- SVG, PNG, PDF
- Runs on
- Web, Windows, Mac, Linux
- Made by
- Visual Paradigm
- Hong Kong
Good to know
- The free plan is for personal or non-commercial use only
- Can be bought once: $99
- AI drawing from text is on paid plans only
- Diagrams as code: Mermaid, PlantUML, Graphviz, D2
Where it stands among 24
Each fact with every app's answer. Visual Paradigm Online is outlined.
Main way to draw
Drag shapes
Sketch by hand 5
Drag shapes 13
Write code 4
Describe in words 2
Free for work use
No free work use
Free version allows work use 10
Exports SVG
On every plan
On every plan 15
On paid plans 5
Draws from a text prompt
On paid plans
On every plan 14
On paid plans 3
No AI drawing 1
Not stated 6
Diagram code
Mermaid, PlantUML, Graphviz, D2
Works offline
Partly
Open source
Closed source
Plans and prices
In USD, per month, as listed by Visual Paradigm. Checked 17 October 2026.
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Seats | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free planUnlimited diagrams and shapes, 1 GB storage, selected diagram types, 3 collaborators | Work use: not allowed | ||
| Starter | $4/mo$48 a year | Not stated | per user | Commercial use, watermark-free and high-resolution exports. |
| Advance | $9/mo$108 a year | Not stated | per user | Unlimited collaborators and diagram revisions. |
| Combo | $15/mo$180 a year | Not stated | per user | VPasCode with AI, 100 GB storage. |
| Deluxe | $30/mo$360 a year | Not stated | per user | Adds the AI diagram chatbot. |
- Free for work use
- NoNo
- One-time licence
- $99
- Enterprise
- Price on request
How you make a diagram
- Ways to draw
- Shapes, Code, Words
- AI from a text prompt
- Paid plansPaid plans VPasCode with AI on Combo, the AI chatbot on Deluxe; desktop chatbot on Professional and Enterprise
- AI limits
- No usage limit stated
- Diagram code
- Mermaid, PlantUML, Graphviz, D2 VPasCode renders as you type; the live editor is in the Free plan
- Diagram types
- UML, Sequence, ER / database, BPMN, Flowcharts, Network, Cloud architecture, Org charts, Mind maps, Wireframes Diagram types vary by Online plan; mind maps from Starter
What you get out
- SVG
- YesYes Free and paid plans
- PNG
- YesYes High-resolution PNG on paid plans
- YesYes
- Visio (VSDX)
- Not statedNot stated Not stated
- Watermark on free exports
- Not statedNot stated Starter lists 'watermark-free exports'; whether Free exports carry a watermark isn't stated outright
- Imports
- Visio, Mermaid, CSV Visio import (Desktop: .vsdx, .vdx); Mermaid and CSV through VPasCode; also XMI, BPMN 2.0 and Excel on Desktop
Where it runs and where files live
- Apps
- Web, Windows, Mac, Linux
- Works offline
- PartlyPartly Desktop modelling works offline; VP Online needs a connection
- Open source
- NoNo Licensed under a limited, revocable licence
- Self-hosting
- Paid plansPaid plans Teamwork Server on-premises repository at $3,999 per server; VP Online itself isn't self-hostable
- Where diagrams are stored
- Maker's cloud, Google Drive, Your own server 1 GB on Free, 100 GB on Combo and Deluxe; Teamwork Server on premises
- Works inside
- Confluence, Jira, Google Workspace, Microsoft Office Office embedding (Word, PowerPoint, OneNote, Outlook)
- Live co-editing
- YesYes Up to 3 participants on Free, 5 on Starter, unlimited from Advance
- API
- YesYes Desktop Java plug-in API reads and edits diagrams; no VP Online API stated
Who you're trusting
- Company
- Visual Paradigm International Ltd.
- Owned by
- Not stated No parent company stated
- Based in
- Hong Kong The security page refers to Hong Kong law
- Launched
- Not stated Not stated
- Security reports
- Not stated No certification stated; publishes a GDPR statement
- Single sign-on
- Not stated Not in the cited VP Online excerpt; Desktop editions list SAML through Okta and Azure
- Data residency
- Not stated None stated