Skip to content
PlantUML logo

PlantUML project

PlantUML

Write code

Open-source text-to-diagram tool from the PlantUML project: you write diagrams in its own syntax and render them locally, on a server or in its web editor.

How you draw
Code
Free for work
Yes
Open source
Paid from
Free
Open source
Exports
SVG, PNG, PDF
Runs on
Web, Windows, Mac, Linux
Works offline
Made by
PlantUML project
Not stated

Good to know

  • The free version can be used for work
  • Works fully offline
  • Open source (GPL-3.0 (also LGPL, Apache-2.0, EPL, MIT and BSD builds))
  • Diagrams as code: PlantUML, Graphviz

Where it stands among 24

Each fact with every app's answer. PlantUML is outlined.

Plans and prices

In USD, per month, as listed by PlantUML project. Checked 17 October 2026.

PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthlySeatsNotes
FreeFree and open sourceNo limits; images up to 4096 px by default, configurableWork use: allowed
Paid plansNo paid plan stated
Free for work use
YesYes
One-time licence
Not stated
Enterprise
No enterprise plan

How you make a diagram

Ways to draw
Code
AI from a text prompt
NoNo No prompt-to-diagram feature; the official MCP server renders and checks supplied PlantUML
AI limits
Not applicable No AI generation
Diagram code
PlantUML, Graphviz Own syntax; Graphviz DOT between @startdot and @enddot; the web editor updates as you type
Diagram types
UML, Sequence, ER / database, Network, Wireframes, Mind maps, Cloud architecture AWS and Azure icons in the standard library; activity diagrams for flows

What you get out

SVG
YesYes
PNG
YesYes
PDF
YesYes Needs extra libraries
Visio (VSDX)
NoNo VDX (older Visio XML), not VSDX
Watermark on free exports
NoNo Sponsored messages appear on welcome or error images, 'never on functional diagrams'
Imports
None Reads PlantUML text from .puml, .txt, source and document files; no diagram file import

Where it runs and where files live

Apps
Web, Windows, Mac, Linux
Works offline
YesYes Renders locally once PlantUML and its prerequisites are installed
Open source
YesYes
Self-hosting
YesYes The PlantUML server is open source and self-hostable
Where diagrams are stored
Files on your device The public server stores nothing; source travels in the URL
Works inside
GitHub The GitHub browser extension is official; Confluence, VS Code, Slack, Google Docs and Word plugins listed are third-party
Live co-editing
Not statedNot stated Not stated
API
YesYes Java API and HTTP server

Who you're trusting

Company
PlantUML project No company named
Owned by
Independent
Based in
Not stated Not stated
Launched
2009 The maker refers to integrations 'since 2009'; the GitHub repository dates from 2010
Security reports
Not applicable Software, not a hosted service
Single sign-on
Not applicable No accounts
Data residency
Not applicable No hosted storage

Where we recommend it

Compare PlantUML